Making Time

My go-to excuse for my own dogs lack of training is always time. Too busy, no time, not enough time, can’t find the time, etc. etc. etc….

It’s a terrible excuse. There is a lot of time- it’s more a matter of motivation than it is time.

When you really want something or you find it satisfying you make time. Take herding for instance. I will always find time to work my dog on sheep. Always. No matter the weather, how tired I am, or what I should be doing instead. If I’m offered time I take it!

My dedication shows in that particular venue. My dog is pretty sharp for a two year old dog. I’ve spent a lot of time teaching him, and learning how to handle him. It is by far my most favorite thing to do.

In other venues my lack of dedication shows- my obedience/Rally dogs are sloppy and mostly untrained, my Nosework dogs are confused and my agility dog is coming along nicely despite our short training sessions. I have high expectations for my dogs and myself so I need to do better. Not to mention that teaching people and their dogs is my business! My own dogs need to be a reflection of my abilities!

And so- operation MAKE the Time. Designated training each day, each week for each particular dog/venue. I made a list this morning of all the things on the go. A short term goal list sort of! Generally lists overwhelm me, but this one is pushing me!

—–

Nosework- Brit/Pixel and Intro Leo

Sustained Nose Touch, Commitment to Source, Exteriors, Novel Search Locations

Rally- Siren

Fronts, Position Changes in Heel, Novel training locations, delayed reinforcement, proofing with a “judge.”

Obedience- Pixel and Siren

Pixel- go outs, directed jumping, articles. Novel training locations, delayed reinforcement

Siren- heeling duration, fronts, stand for exam, Novel training location, proofing for sound

Agility- Willow

Contacts, Start Line Games, Rear Crosses

And Go!

One thought on “Making Time

Leave a comment